Salon Z with Manfred Stanek & Hans Roth.

23. September 2019

How much plastic does our world need?

Plastic wherever you look: Be it in the hygienic packaging of food to prolong its lifespan, in the efficient packaging of consumer goods or in the use of modern medicine. Our lives are almost inconceivable without plastics.

And yet plastic is more and more in the crossfire of criticism and is even said to have been the inspiration for the emergence of a global movement, the Friday for Future movements. The image of a dead whale with plastic garbage in its belly is said to have grasped the motivation to initiate the climate strikes of Greta Thunberg.

We were able to discuss this topic at our Salon Z in September with two CEOs, who also deal with it professionally. Moderated by Andreas Lampl (Trend), Hans Roth, founder and chairman of the cupervisory board of Saubermacher AG, and Manfred Stanek, CEO of Greiner Packaging International, debated with a top-class audience, whether plastics are part of the solution or part of the problem.

Plastics: The core of the problem or the solution for the future?

Whether as a manufacturer, in the consumer goods industry, as a recycling company or in retailing, all players are fundamentally aware of the added value and above all, the necessity of packaging. In many areas, there are no meaningful alternatives to plastic, which is why the sustainability aspect of the very flexible and durable product must come to the fore. Compared to other packaging materials, plastics have a massive advantage: their production consumes less CO2.

At the same time, there is a public debate about the role of plastics and how to deal with it. Technical terms such as “recycling economy” or “design for recyclability” have no chance of being heard and understood in such a debate.

The solution: Reduce – Reuse – Recycle

The companies of out two Salon Z guests, Mr. Roth and Mr. Stanek, are essential parts of the future vision “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle”. They are both working on how the products can be recycled more easily through their design and how they can be better separated through process optimisation. This means that resources can be conserved and reused. The goal should be clear: to close the loop between production and reuse. And not only in Austria, but all over the world.

The pictures from Southeast Asia are drastic and devastating: the greatest efforts must be made here. Numerous companies and NGOs are leading the way with initiatives in the places where the effects are the greatest. On the one hand, to get the garbage problem under control and on the other hand, to give people a perspective. They are still at the beginning. Even in Austria, where the recycling rate is approx. 60%, there are of course still opportunities for optimisation and demand.

In this context, the cooperation of the companies Saubermacher and Greiner can initiate significant improvements. As always, however, it is up to the consumer how he deals with the waste and what happens to it. Plastic packaging may have an unjustifiably bad reputation – it’s largely the people who don’t know how to handle it properly.

More Information

For more information from Saubermacher AG on the topic of “Zero Waste” please click here, for advice on how to correctly dispose of plastics click here.

Find an interview with Manfred Stanek, CEO of Greiner Packaging, about “Re-thinking products” here.

Salon Z mit Manfred Stanek & Hans Roth.

23. September 2019

Wie viel Plastik braucht unsere Welt?

Plastik, wohin man schaut: Sei es in der hygienischen Verpackung von Lebensmitteln, um deren Lebenszeit zu verlängern; in der effizienten Verpackung von Konsumgütern oder im Einsatz moderner Medizin. Unser Leben ist ohne Kunststoffe fast nicht vorstellbar.

Und doch steht Plastik immer mehr im Kreuzfeuer der Kritik und soll gar Pate gestanden haben im Entstehen eines globalen Movements, den Friday for Future-Bewegungen. Angesichts der Bilder eines verendeten Wales mit Plastikmüll im Bauch soll Greta Thunberg die Motivation gepackt haben, ihre Klimastreiks zu initiieren.

Bei unserem Salon Z im September konnten wir mit zwei Wirtschaftsbossen diskutieren, die sich dieser Thematik auch beruflich auseinandersetzen. Moderiert von Andreas Lampl (Trend) debattierten Hans Roth, Gründer und Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der Saubermacher AG, und Manfred Stanek, CEO der Greiner Packaging International, und einem hochkarätigen Publikum, ob Plastik nun Teil des Problems oder Teil der Lösung sei.

Kunststoffe: Kern des Problems oder Lösung für die Zukunft?

Ob als Hersteller, in der Konsumgüterindustrie, als Recyclingunternehmen oder im Handel, alle Akteure kennen grundsätzlich den Mehrwert und vor allem die Notwendigkeit von Verpackungen. In vielen Bereichen gibt es keine sinnvollen Alternativen zu Kunststoff, weshalb der Nachhaltigkeitsaspekt des sehr flexiblen und langlebigen Produkts in den Vordergrund treten muss. Kunststoffe haben im Vergleich zu anderen Verpackungsstoffen einen massiven Vorteil: ihre Produktion verbraucht weniger CO2.

Gleichzeitig gibt es eine teils sehr emotional geführte Debatte in der Öffentlichkeit über die Rolle von Plastik und wie damit umgegangen werden soll. Fachtermini wie “Kreislaufwirtschaft” oder “Design für Rezyklierbarkeit” haben in so einer Debatte keine Chance auf Verständnis oder Gehör.

Die Lösung: Reduce – Reuse – Recycle

Die Unternehmen der beiden Salon Z Gesprächsgäste, Saubermacher AG und Greiner Packaging AG, sind wesentliche Teile der Zukunftsvision „Reduzieren, Wiederverwenden, Recyceln“. Sie arbeiten beide daran, wie einerseits die Produkte durch ihr Design leichter recycled werden können und andererseits durch Prozessoptimierung besser getrennt werden. Damit können Ressourcen geschont und wiederverwendet werden. Das Ziel dürfte klar sein: den Kreislauf zwischen Produktion und Wiederverwendung zu schließen. Und das nicht nur in Österreich, sondern auf der ganzen Welt.

Die Bilder aus Südostasien sind drastisch und verheerend: hier gilt es, die größten Anstrengungen zu setzen. Zahlreiche Unternehmen und NGOs gehen mit Initiativen an jenen Orten voran, wo die Auswirkungen am stärksten sind. Um einerseits das Müllproblem in den Griff zu bekommen und andererseits den Menschen eine Perspektive zu geben. Dort steht man noch am Anfang. Auch in Österreich, wo die Recyclingquote bei ca. 60 % liegt, gibt es natürlich noch immer Optimierungsmöglichkeiten und -bedarf.

In diesem Zusammenhang kann die Zusammenarbeit der Unternehmen Saubermacher und Greiner wesentliche Verbesserungen initiieren. Es liegt jedoch wie immer auch am Konsumenten, wie er mit seinem Abfall umgeht und was aus diesem wird. Kunststoffverpackungen haben möglicherweise einen unberechtigt schlechten Ruf – es ist zum großen Teil der Mensch, der nicht weiß, wie man mit ihnen richtig umgeht.

Weitere Informationen

Wissenswertes zum Thema „Zero Waste – Potentiale zur Kreislaufführung“ der Saubermacher AG bekommen Sie hier, Tipps zur richtigen Kunststoffentsorgung finden Sie hier.

Ein Interview mit dem CEO der Greiner Packaging AG, Manfred Stanek, zum Thema „Neudenken von Produkten“ finden Sie hier.